Common Sense in Chess - Emanuel Lasker

In the spring of 1895, reigning world chess champion Emanuel Lasker gave a series of lectures in London. These were geared to the level of the club players, or intermediate level. Later that year Lasker gathered his lecture material together and wrote it up in manuscript form to be published, retaining the informal, conversational tone of the lectures.

The result was Common Sense in Chess, long regarded as a classic both during Lasker’s lifetime and for generations afterwards. It is a masterpiece of compression and exposition, and in the whole of chess literature, there is nothing that quite compares with it. Respected chess author Bruce Alberston has taken Lasker’s classic and created a 21st century edition. The text has been converted to modern algebraic notation and more diagrams have been added (there are now more than 330 diagrams!). Splendidly complementing Lasker’s original masterpiece, Alberston has added seven games annotated by Lasker that were played in the famous Hastings Tournament of 1895.

Op voorraad
€ 17,95
Contents: 4 Acknowledgments, Symbols and Abbreviations; 5 Editor's Introduction; 7 Author's Preface; 8 Chapter One - Opening Principles; 14 Chapter Two - Ruy Lopez, Part One; 19 Chapter Three - Ruy Lopez, Part Two; 26 Chapter Four - Evans Gambit; 32 Chapter Five - King's Bishop's Gambit; 36 Chapter Six - French Defence; 44 Chapter Seven - The Attack; 62 Chapter Eight - The Defence; 73 Chapter Nine - The End Game; 94 Chapter Ten - Last Round at Hastings; 99 Chapter Eleven - Lasker Annotates; 115 Analytical Endnotes; 124 Summary of Tournament Results 1889-1936; 125 Summary of Match Results 1889-1921; 126 Index of Players; 127 Index of Openings.
Meer informatie
MerkNew in chess
Aantal pagina'sn.v.t.
Boek bindingn.v.t.
Verzend beleidn.v.t.
Retour beleidn.v.t.
Schrijf uw eigen review
Alleen geregistreerde gebruikers kunnen reviews schrijven. Log in of maak alstublieft een account aan. inloggen of maak een account aan